BlueBloggin

Taking Texas And The Nation Back

Nations Must Spread Fear To Justify Human Rights Abuses

Posted by bosskitty on May 24, 2007

Thank you for this informative article By Nora Boustany,   Washington Post Foreign Service Thursday, May 24, 2007

 Powerful governments and armed groups are spreading fear to divert attention from human rights abuses, exacerbating polarization in an increasingly dangerous world, Amnesty International said yesterday in its annual assessment of rights worldwide.

That is a common sleight of hand magic trick and we fall for it every time.

The United States is “the leading country using fear to justify the unjustifiable,” said Larry Cox, executive director of Amnesty International USA. “The U.S. used to be in a position to speak out effectively against torture and military tribunals. We can’t do that now because we are carrying out some of the same practices,” he said.

This is the same successful ‘magic trick’ that has been a GOP favorite for the last 7+ years.  The GOP has brought this country down to the same level as the worst Human Rights offenders and uses the same mantra every time!  Remember 9/11!  Remember Al Qaeda!  and as for immigration … Remember the Alamo!

Democrats are given an opportunity to turn this around – change troop strategy – make mental health repair a requirement before releasing damaged soldiers back into society.  We want to hear a statement in the right direction!  Still waiting!

10 Responses to “Nations Must Spread Fear To Justify Human Rights Abuses”

  1. kayinmaine said

    Hey woman…I’m not blocking you over at my site! I am blocking a troll, however, and I’m using part of his IP address to do it. Unfortunately, you two have similar IP’s and that’s why your comments went into my spam catcher. Sucks! Honestly, Akismet catches my comments too and it’s so frustrating to say the least.

    Great post, by the way. Under George W. Bush, our nation has gone to hell. The democrats need to start remembering that he only has a 24% approval rating and our country no longer trusts him or cowers when he uses fear to intimidate (it never worked on me, but it did for so many people! Crazy). Jees. 🙂

  2. nytexan said

    Kay:
    I glad it’s just spam, I’d hate to think you didn’t love me anymore.

    It sucks that me and troll have a similar IP, my world my be very scary in the future.

  3. Just checking out your blog and wanted to say how much I like your “statement” on comments. That is basically my unwritten statement as well. I will tolerate just about anything, but I will not tolerate hate. Not a first amendment issue, it’s my issue.

    Keep up the good work.

  4. bosskitty said

    Thanks Kay,
    If NYT is a Troll, I will be one, too. NYT wanted me to comment back to you that she’s in your dungeon again. I had to remind her that we share the same IP address. Duh! I don’t like dungeons, either>(
    Thanks for watching over us. 😉

  5. nytexan said

    China:
    Thank for the kind works about my blog. come back again.

  6. bosskitty said

    Thanks China, I am adamant that blanket categorizing of people is the first step to de-humanizing them. Once that happens, then abuse and exploitation follow. I will not enable this to begin or perpetuate on my watch. I will, however, allow abusers to make comments. I enjoy sharing my wrath onto intolerant visitors. Please visit often and correct any inaccuracies you find. I am happy to make corrections.

  7. mirth said

    Love this post, nytexan.
    The Dem party shift to the right now separates us only by degress from the Republicans. The Dem party no longer represents me. From now on, no more work or $ from me and my focus is voting the enabling Congressional Dems out of office.

  8. nytexan said

    Mirth
    Thanks for loving the post, but I must give the kudos to the author BossKity.

    Its ashame the dems screwed up so bad so soon. I am going to push hard for Gore. I will say this my Rep. Lloyd Doggett, made up his mind on Tuesday to vote no across the board and I am proud of him. I will strongly be supporting him in 08.

  9. mirth said

    Oops. I see that now, nytexan. *red-faced* Sorry bosskitty, and kudos to you for this post.

  10. nytexan said

    Mirth:
    She forgives you, I gave her cheese enchiladas as an offering.

Leave a Reply

 
