BlueBloggin

Taking Texas And The Nation Back

Guns On The Campaign Trail

Posted by nytexan on April 18, 2007

It’s sad to me that we are only 72 hours past the shootings at Virginia Tech and we have now put gun control on the 2008 campaign trail. We are truly capitalist. We capitalize personally and politically on someone’s loss and suffering. The student, faculty and their families are in the zone of grieving and pundits are in the zone of political capital.  For two nights now after work, I have listen and watched experts in all field opine on gun control as they weave the carnage in Virginia into the campaign trail. 

I live in a state where probable 90% of the homes have a gun, mine does. And yet I am all for melting every gun.  I don’t understand why we feel the need to own guns. But that’s not the discussion I wish to get into today.

Democrats for and against gun control won’t touch the subject for fear they will loose the states they gained on 2006.  On the other hand, I think the some Republicans will use gun control to gain what they lost in 2006.  They will use the Virginia Tech murders to bolster their position with the the 2nd Amendment crowd.  To me that’s sad.

I feel that the tragedy and trauma of many Americans will become political hay for some in their quest for the White House.  I hope I’m wrong.

Leave a Reply

 
